How do I migrate my POP3 emails to Crucial?

  Print

How do I migrate my POP3 emails to Crucial?



In order to migrate your POP3 email account to Crucial, you will need to take an email backup and create the new Crucial hosted email account with this backup.


Outlook 2013

Migrate via Backup
This guide demonstrates how to do this with Outlook 2013, however the process is similar for Outlook 2010.

  1. Open your Outlook program
  2. Select File

  3. Click on Open & Export

  4. Then select Import/Export



  5. Select Export to a file and click on Next

  6. Choose Outlook Data File (.pst) and select Next

  7. This will then present you with a menu where you can select the folders you wish to export to the data file, once this has been selected hit Next

  8. You will then be prompted with the following selection, choose where you would like to save the exported data file and any options you may want to include. Then select Finish



Migrate via Restore
  1. Select File
  2. Then select Add Account
  3. Select Manual Setup or additional server types
  4. Then select POP or IMAP and click Next
  5. You will then be presented with the following menu, make sure that you 'Deliver new messages to' the Existing Outlook Data File (this is the backup you just created) browse to the location where it was saved

  6. Once this has been completed, fill out the rest of the account information and select Next


Mac Mail
This guide shows how to Export a Mailbox using OSX Yosemite (10.10)

Migrate via Backup
  1. Select one or more mailboxes, then choose Mailbox > Export Mailbox
  2. Then select a folder (or create a new folder) this will export the mailbox. This will be exported as a .mbox file



Migrate via Restore
  1. Select File then click Import Mailboxes
  2. Select Files in mbox format and click continue



  3. This will then prompt you for a location of the previously exported mbox files

  4. Once this has been done, select Choose. This will then import the data.




Tip: POP3 is an email protocol that stores your emails on a local device (such as your computer or phone). This means that the emails are downloaded off the server, and in most default configurations will be removed off the server in 14 days.



Related Articles